Broad experience. Regional focus.

Belleville 618.234.9800
Edwardsville 618.656.2244

Blog Blog

Life Insurance Premium Default Notices in Illinois: Proper Notification is Essential for the Denial of Benefits

by Natalie T. Lorenz, Attorney at Law

The Illinois Insurance Code protects owners of life insurance policies when there has been a default in premium payments, but the insurance agency has not given proper notice of default to those owners. The Illinois Insurance Code provides, “No life company shall declare any policy forfeited or lapsed within six months after default in payment . . . unless a written or printed notice . . . shall have been duly addressed and mailed . . . to the person whose life is insured . . . .” Although this statute does not mention that notice is also required to be given to owners of life insurance policies, if they differ from the insureds, the Illinois courts have expanded the statute’s reach so that owners must be given notice as well.

Read more ...

Illinois Department of Labor Clarifies Stance on Employers’ “Use It or Lose It” Vacation Policies

by Kevin J. Richter, Shareholder and Scott Johnston, Law Clerk at Mathis, Marifian & Richter, Ltd. & Student at Saint Louis University School of Law.

Revisions made in 2014 to Illinois employment rules and regulations caused some uncertainty with regards to vacation policies. Specifically, the position the Department of Labor took on “use it or lose it” policies resulted in confusion because a provision was added that prohibits the forfeiture of earned vacation by a written policy, while the provision authorizing “use it or lose it” policies remained in the regulation. In response to the confusion, the Department of Labor has released some “Frequently Asked Questions” (FAQs) that offer guidance and examples.

Read more ...

I've Suffered a Serious Injury, But I Can't Afford a Lawyer

by Mark S. Schuver, Shareholder

Many people suffer serious personal injuries and damages due to the fault of another party, but fail to seek compensation because they can’t afford the high price of a personal injury attorney. Attorneys often charge hourly rates of $300, $400, $500 per hour, or more! Unless you’re Bill Gates, you may not be able to afford to hire an attorney to pursue your rights.

Read more ...

Can My Employer Fire Me If I Report A Work-Related Injury?

by Mark S. Schuver, Shareholder

This is a common story: “I’ve just injured myself at work, but I’m afraid to tell my employer because I’m worried that they will fire me.”

Every year, thousands of work –related injuries go unreported and uncompensated because employees are afraid that if they tell their supervisor or employer about the injury or file a worker’s compensation claim, that the employer will get mad and fire them. If you have suffered a work-related injury, you are entitled to worker’s compensation. The law protects employees from being fired for reporting work-related injuries or pursuing worker’s compensation claims.

Read more ...

facebook icontwitter iconlinked in icon